How many NBA franchises are there in the WNBA? Reviewing the counterparts after Warriors’ expansion

Every league welcomes new teams including the WNBA which approved an expansion franchise for the Golden State Warriors. The Golden State Warriors, who are one of the most successful teams in NBA history and have won four NBA championships within the last decade, aim to replicate that achievement in the WNBA.

The announcement came on Thursday morning, confirming their participation in the 2025 WNBA season. The fans of Golden State Warriors, male basketball players and the entire WNBA community welcome this development in their league as they envisage a bigger expansion before 2025.

Warriors get WNBA team in latest expansion

A Bay Area expansion franchise will play in the 2025 season, the WNBA officially confirmed on Thursday. The Golden State Warriors have officially entered the WNBA arena with a newly awarded expansion team set to debut in 2025.  The team’s name has not yet been decided, though reports claim the team might be named Golden State.

Warriors Co-Executive Chairman and CEO Joe Lacob said, “The Bay Area is the perfect market for a WNBA team, and we are thrilled this opportunity has finally come to fruition.” He emphasized the rich history of women’s basketball in the region and the ideal timing to establish a legacy. The team will play its home games in San Francisco’s famous Chase Center while having its practice in Oakland at the old home of the Warriors.

Via Getty

WNBA Commissioner Cathy Engelbert hailed the move, recognizing the Bay Area’s passionate basketball community and a strong history of supporting women’s basketball. She also commended the leadership of Joe Lacob, Peter Guber, and the Warriors’ organization for their successful track record in both business and basketball.

How many NBA franchise have WNBA team?

There are six NBA franchises that also have teams in the WNBA, which is the Women’s National Basketball Association. These franchises have shown how they are dedicated to women’s basketball by joining the WNBA. The six NBA franchises with WNBA teams are the Washington Wizards (Washington Mystics), Brooklyn Nets (New York Liberty), Phoenix Suns (Phoenix Mercury), Minnesota Timberwolves (Minnesota Lynx), and Indiana Pacers (Indiana Fever). Enter the newly added team from the Golden State Warriors.

Via Getty

Golden State, though, will mark among the WNBA five teams in either the Pacific or Mountain time zones, highlighting the league’s prominence in the West. Golden State Warriors are the most recent addition to the WNBA. The NBA franchises’ continued support of gender equality and the expansion of women’s sports is seen in these NBA-WNBA partnerships, which are advantageous to both the WNBA and women’s basketball as a whole.

Shariare Hasib

429 articles

Shariare Hasib is an NBA Editor at SportsKnot. With a master's degree in journalism from a prestigious university, Shariare started writing about the sport during his undergraduate years. Since then, he has been fascinated by LeBron James' lasting impact as well as Stephen Curry's incredible consistency. He specializes in live basketball coverage. Apart from reporting on trade speculations and match updates during off-season activities, Shariare frequently interacts with fan communities to stay abreast of the constantly evolving NBA scene.


Leave a Comment