AFCON Final: who has won the most times?

The African Cup of Nations (AFCON) is the continent’s biggest competition, which kicked off in January in Côte d’Ivoire. The competition has been an extravaganza from the group stages to the knockout rounds, featuring nail-biting games, close encounters, and some of the biggest upsets, with heavyweights getting knocked out early.

Following a month of action among Africa’s top national teams, featuring world-class players from top leagues around the world, the showdown of the 2024 AFCON final will see Nigeria and the hosts locking horns for the prestigious title. Let’s take a glance at the competition’s top scorer and the title holders.

Who has won most AFCON titles in history?

The AFCON is held every two years, organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), and contested among its member associations. The tournament’s inaugural edition took place in 1957, with only three teams participating. Over the years, it has expanded its horizons to become a 24-team competition.

Egypt is the most successful team in the history of the competition, with a record seven titles. The Pharaohs secured their first triumph in the inaugural edition, and their collection of seven trophies includes three successive wins from 2006 to 2010, topping the accolade tally.

image 152
Via-Egyptian Gazette

Cameroon ranks second with five victories, boasting the title of the second-most dominant nation in AFCON history. The Indomitable Lions have been among the strongest African teams, regularly participating in FIFA World Cups. Their most recent title was secured in 2017 by defeating Egypt in the final.

The Black Stars of Ghana hold the third position with four titles in their cabinet, securing their first win in 1963. They went on to clinch victories on three more occasions: in 1965, 1978, and 1982, respectively. Notably, Ghana secured their third trophy on home soil by defeating Uganda in the 1978 edition’s final.

image 153

This year’s finalist, Nigeria, with three titles, stands in fourth position. The Super Eagles will be aiming to lift their fourth title, having last won in 2013 when they secured a 1-0 victory over Burkina Faso to become the champions.

Who is the top goal scorer in AFCON history?

Over the years, some of the biggest soccer icons have showcased their excellence on African soil by representing their nations in the AFCON. The tournament has featured legends like Ahmed Hassan, Didier Drogba, Samuel Eto’o, Jay-Jay Okocha, and Yaya Touré, as well as superstars of the new generation.

image 151

The former Barcelona legendary striker Samuel Eto’o holds the title of the competition’s all-time top scorer. The Cameroonian icon netted 18 goals across six Africa Cup of Nations campaigns and won the competition twice. Additionally, he clinched the Golden Boot as the highest scorer consecutively in 2006 and 2008. 


Leave a Comment